Christian Ministries Scholarships Awarded

DW logo.jpg

Disciples Women’s Ministries of the Mid-America Region are pleased to announce that seven students received The Christian Ministries Scholarship Fund (CMSF) award for 2018-2019, which provides financial assistance for women and men preparing for Christian Ministries. A total of $5,600 was distributed as $800 scholarship awards to be split between the Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 semesters. These awards will support the calling and educational goals of five seminarians and two certificate in pastoral ministry students. Congratulations to our 2018-2019 scholarship recipients:

Rev. Gina Louise Johnson (United Theological Seminary) Associate Minister/Children’s Director, Sedalia FCC and Commissioned Student Minister--supporting congregation is Warrensburg FCC.

Rev. Angela Williams (Phillips Theological Seminary) Outreach Pastor, Fifth Street CC in Columbia, and Pulpit Supply Preacher for three years at Clarksville CC.

Rev. Heather J. Patten (Lexington Theological Seminary) Associate Minister (Youth & Young Families), Fulton FCC, and Transitional Minister at Auxvasse CC.

Rev. Alan Bailey (Eden Theological Seminary) Part-time Commissioned Pastor at FCC in California, MO.

William Deshay Cortez Jackson (Brite Divinity School - TCU) New M.Div. student with music education background. Sponsoring congregations are Canton CC, and Second CC, New London, MO.

Two scholarships were given to students in the new online Ministry Training Program (Certificate in Pastoral Ministry) at Phillips Theological Seminary: Bill Dahlheimer (Elder at Celebration Church, St. Peters, MO) and Adam Berry (Pulpit Supply Preacher at Hematite FCC, Festus, MO).

Regional Disciples Women’s Ministries Coordinator Theresa Hamilton says, “This award year was unique since the CMS fund had not made awards for several years.” She explains that in the future, the CMS deadline will be earlier in the year and may have revised requirements for applicants (there may be fewer funds to distribute in subsequent years). Watch the Regional newsletter and website for updated scholarship details. The Christian Ministries Scholarship Fund is under the stewardship of the CCMA Disciples Women's Ministries. This year’s volunteer committee of DW met during the Regional Assembly in Hannibal, MO, and included: DW Coordinator Theresa Hamilton (FCC, Cameron), Regional Minister Katrina Palan (South Street CC, Springfield), LeWanda Jackson (2nd CC, Fulton), Debbie Colvin (FCC, St. Joseph), Sara Reiter (Community CC, Camdenton), and Janet Taylor (FCC, Festus).

“I would like to thank committee members for the cooperative team effort and for sharing their valuable time,” says Theresa Hamilton. DW interested in serving on the 2019-2020 CMSF committee should email Theresa Hamilton at:

CMS Funds come from local congregations, individuals, and Disciple Women (CWF) groups. After the distribution of this year’s scholarship awards, $5,000 was added to the principle of the CMSF Endowment. Donations to this fund are greatly appreciated. Please use the CCMA “Remittance Form for Donations” and write “CMSF” under the “Disciples Women” column (this form is located at the bottom of all Website pages at:

See more information and photos of award recipients here.

Thank you to Theresa Hamilton for this information.